Activities for dementia

abbiekennard

Feb 10, 2019
Good Morning,

I got a job as an activities coordinator and care assistant a month ago. This is my first time in care and I am 20 years old. The care part of my job is going really well and i feel like im learning each time i am on the job and i am treated as part of the team. However, when it comes to activities, it is not going very well.

We are a team of three but all work different days, one has been here for over 16 years so has a lot of experience. Now when it comes to activities, i'd like to say that i do fairly well when it comes to one to one activities as I have chats with them, read books and play games etc. But soon as it comes to group activities i get stumped. Due to have a team working the other days I am not in, no planning is put in place. So any activities i suggest, they have done recently. We have a small budget but i have not really been told about this. I dont know how to motivate the residents and I am getting worried because all senior staff ask me what is the plan and ive got nothing/. Any ideas i have just get batted away. I feel like i cant do what i want and even so i still get judged. The care staff are frowned apon for helping the activity staff. I shadowed my team for 4 shifts but they were no help, as on her shifts, she brings people in, yet on my days, i have no access to this and get moaned at because i cant do activities.

Any ideas would help. Its getting to that point already where i think i will switch to just care but i know activities coordinator looks better on an application. And honestly the shifts are shorter so i get to leave early.
Thank you to everyone that responses.

Rokafella

Feb 10, 2019