Acquired brain injury with dementia like memory loss

Steve01242

Sep 3, 2018
My brother suffered a brain injury in 2012 and since then has been confined to a care home as his wife can't cope with him. My parents and I are planning to hopefully get him to come and live with us, but the local authority are not being very forthcoming about what support is available. I notice there is a lot of good advice on the Alzheimer's web site and was wondering if the finance / support / care provision sections would apply to us or more specifically my 46 year old brother?
Does anyone have any experience on this?

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Does anyone have any experience on this?

I have no experience of this @Steve01242 nor do you say whether your brother`s brain injury has caused progressive damage or not.

I'm sure you and your parents want to do the best for him.

I'm sorry to be negative but after 6 years in a care home do you think he may have become institutionalised and perhaps unable to cope within a domestic family situation.

I know the point of your post is to ask for information about funding and LA support if your brother came home and really the only ones able to answer this would be your own LA.

I hope others may be able to offer you more reassurance .

jaymor

Jul 14, 2006
South Staffordshire
Hi @Steve01242 and welcome to TP.

Is the Local Authority funding your brothers care in the care home? If they are then they should fund it outside of the care home, it will all depend on cost.

If they are funding him ask that they assess his needs and go from there with your ideas as to how you will cover his needs at home. It won’t be easy, caring for someone 24 hours a day is a hard job. Please let us know how you get on.

Kevinl

Aug 24, 2013
Salford
Hi Steve, welcome to TP