A sense of relief

PalSal

Dec 4, 2011
Pratteln Switzerland
Dear Talking Point friends,

My last post was difficult on July 4th. So, grateful I was able to come to Talking Point and get perspective on what I am dealing with daily. I forget. And find others who understood what happened and my breaking point.

Looking back on that terrible day, I can see I was under such pressure. The final interview for my Swiss citizenship was on July 5 and as you on talking point know, I have been preparing and studying for three years.

With the final interview behind me, life is really really different. I no longer need to get up and study every day, no organize care and get to German classes, and now I am truly a retired person, as I am no longer working since Dec 2017. But I finally feel retired.

I awake up in the morning and thank my God that I am free to choose to do or not do anything at all. I cannot remember when I have felt so free.

I spent a good deal of time the first days after the exams getting my house, laundry and ironing all in order. The garden flowers fertilized and general household duties.

I have been good to my promise of trying to take simple pleasures in life, ie eating out on the balcony and the terrace and enjoying our lovely spaces. Making a conscious effort to be aware of all the lovely gifts of our lives. Especially that after having this disease so long Nick is still physically pretty fit, although he does tire more easily, I do notice this. We enjoying living here on the mountain, as I do not think we can stay here forever, I want to savor its pleasures for now we must make the most of it.