16 years old and living with a parent that has dementia

cheyelise

Aug 17, 2017
england
hello to whoever is reading this, I'm completely new to this and don't really know what I'm doing yet so I hope that I'm doing this right.

I have been hunting for someone in the same situation as me for the longest time as I find dealing with my situation extremely difficult, especially because the friends that I have don't fully understand what I'm going through. I would like to find someone that I can talk to on a regular basis about our experiences with the security of knowing that we both understand each other.

I don't know if there is anyone close to my age on this website let alone if this whole idea is at all possible, but I thought that I would try and hope for the best.

Thank you,
Cheyenne

LadyA

Oct 19, 2009
Ireland
Hello Cheyenne, and welcome to Talking Point - although I'm sorry that you had need to find us!

It must be very difficult, watching your parent going through this, and the affects dementia can have on the rest of the family. Talking Point is a safe place to share and seek support from others with similar experiences. So feel free to join in any of the discussions and ask any questions you might have. And if you ever felt the need to talk to someone, don't forget, the National Dementia Helpline can be contacted on 0300 222 1122 or by email at helpline@alzheimers.org.uk.

Helpline opening hours:
Monday to Wednesday 9am – 8pm
Thursday and Friday 9am – 5pm
Saturday and Sunday 10am – 4pm

AlsoConfused

Sep 17, 2010
Welcome to TP from me, too.

There are a number of young carers in your very sad situation. TP offers a private message service which you and they may wish to use from time to time. I think you have to have done at least 10 posts before you can access that service ...

Hopefully you'll find some of the posts from older carers useful in showing you different ways of coping with the many challenges this dreadful disease throws up.