Communication needs & problems in A&E

GsB

Sep 30, 2014
Dear Talking Point forum members,

My name's Guri & I'm currently a junior doctor. I have a particular interest in dementia having cared for my late grandmother who died with Alzheimer's.

As part of a national project to help improve communication between healthcare staff & patients & their relatives/carers in A&E, I have been asked to produce a leaflet which provides essential information for patients with dementia & their carers at point of hospital admission.

I have several ideas for the leaflet, but I thought it would be a good idea to hear from carers directly about experiences they've had, & information that they feel would be helpful to know. I would be very grateful for any feedback.

Many thanks,
Guri

Last edited by a moderator:

CJW

Sep 22, 2013
Hi Guri,
How wonderful someone actually wants to know what we think! below are some of my observations re A and E. My mother was admitted to hospital via A and E last april. Alerted by a neighbour that she was very strange, and the emergency team having refused to go out to her because the carers, 3 times a day for meals, said she was ok, I drove from London, 3 hrs, and found her on the street with her bag full of knives trying to escape from the americans and get to the airport. I could not get her into the house so told her I would take her to the airport. Luckily the hospital looks like an airport!!!! She waited in the waiting room while I checked in and we were quite swiftly taken through and seen by a doctor. My mother was very distressed and abusive with me. The doctor was very kind, realised the extent of the problem and mum was admitted and subsequently released to a care home.