Medication

Manu

Jun 2, 2011
Lancashire
Hi All,

I am new to this group and would like some advice please. My mother has started on a course of treatment today for Vascular Dementia and Alzheimers. The medication is called Reminyl / Galantamine. I was wondering if anyone has had any experiences with this type of medication? good or bad.

Thanks Mike.

sue38

Mar 6, 2007
Wigan, Lancs
Hi Mike and welcome to Talking Point (TP) :).

I have no experience of Reminyl, but it's a subject that comes up often on the forum. you might try searching the forum by clicking on Advanced Search and looking for posts with the keyword Reminyl. I would suggest in the first place you restrict it to titles only to narrow your search.

This link may lead to my search as above, or it may not (apologies we have just had an upgrade and we've not quite figured out what works and what doesn't :eek:)

http://forum.alzheimers.org.uk/search.php?searchid=17015

You might also have a look at the factsheets on drugs for Alzheimer's here:

This link should definitely work, she says confidently! ;)

http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/site/scripts/documents_info.php?documentID=147

scarletpauline

Jul 19, 2009
Leicestershire
Hi and welcome to TP. My husband Jack has Reminyl, he is fine with it and I am sure it has done him a lot of good, it doesn't suit everybody. Jack is on 24 mg daily now. Love Pauline xx

Manu

Jun 2, 2011
Lancashire
Thanks.

Hi and welcome to TP. My husband Jack has Reminyl, he is fine with it and I am sure it has done him a lot of good, it doesn't suit everybody. Jack is on 24 mg daily now. Love Pauline xx

Thanks for that Pauline, how long was it before you seen any results?

Mike.

KingB

May 8, 2011
Berkshire
My mum is on reminyl and has just got up to the full 24mg dose.