Compassionate Communication with the Memory Impaired

Skye

Aug 29, 2006
SW Scotland
Jennifer, I believe the statement re. printed with permission was added by the original poster. I wish I could remember who it was. I've tried a search, with no success.

I'm sure she asked pemission before posting, but of course that permission wouldn't apply to future reprints.

Logan

Nov 1, 2010
Whilst always trying to be compassionate, if I were to use this form of communicate with my husband he would sneer and laugh and call me ridiculous - as he does with most sensible things I say. I can't win with him, nor his medics. All they want to say is that I need to learn how to deal with him - I've been doing that in many ways for many years. Now he is refusing to agree to some very important domestic business for our future - not "until I treat him like a normal human being". When I ask how he wants me to treat him he says (as above) but cannot tell me how. I have not slept most of night just thinking and worrying about what to do for the best for both of us. Lx

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Now he is refusing to agree to some very important domestic business for our future - not "until I treat him like a normal human being".

However hard you try and however important this domestic business is, in similar situations my husband would have accused me , and indeed did, of dominance, taking over his life and denying him his independence.

All important business was waived until I was able to seize the moment.

Logan

Nov 1, 2010