Early Onset Alzheimer’s-Just diagnosed at 52

t0ny

Apr 25, 2009
North Yorkshire
Hi,

Just had the bombshell that my partner has been diagnosed with early onset of Alzheimer’s at the age of 52. She is fine, full of beans as usual but has the odd lapse of memory which are getting more noticeable.

Have any of you any experience of what happens next and over what time frame? Any good advice to give? I am the same age, so I we need to plan ahead and develop a strategy to make the most of the next n years not mention financial planning.

Love to hear of any useful websites and sources of information that you may have. I am just learning about Alzheimer's and its various stages.

Regards

Tony

Tony

Scottie45

Jan 25, 2009
CoAntrim
Welcome Tony

Hi and welcome to TP,you will find many people on here who will be able to help sorry i am not one of them as my mum is 83 and has this horrible illness,but there will be others along soon to help you,i just wanted to say HI and you are not alone.Take care Marian x

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
Tony welcome to Talking Point although sorry you had the need to find us.

There are, sadly, quite a few spouses in your position so hopefully you will get a fair number of responses.

Probably the first practical thing you should do is get LPAs (lasting power of attorneys) drawn up for both of you plus wills if you haven't already. Not being able to manage your spouses finances when the time come is a real problem, so don't delay.

Take care and if you have any questions, post away.

TinaT

Sep 27, 2006
Costa Blanca Spain
Hi Tony,

I'm very sorry to hear of your news. I doubt if even doctors can tell you any sort of time scale. Dementia varies so much from person to person, depending on which parts of the brain are affected.