What is happening?

Peal 55

Aug 5, 2022
Hi, this is my first time posting so I'll try and be as clear as possible. My father 77 had an iscemic stroke 7 years ago leaving him immobile in a wheelchair with 2 carers twice a day for personal care. Initially after the stroke my dad (we were very close) was there. He might not be able to walk or talk but the humour and glint and determination were all there. Fast forward to yesterday. I visited him and he did not know who the hell I was. He even asked mum who's that. My mother isn't bothered that this has happened. I feel its the sign of the dementia decline. He obsessed, he is very demanding. If he doesn't get his own way he screams help help. He does not trust me or his wife. He is sleeping more. His behavior has driven the rest of the family away. I am an only child and visit to support mum. I'd be grateful for your thoughts or similar experience. Very isolating currently. Thanks for reading.

Acerakis

Aug 4, 2022
Hi, this is my first time posting so I'll try and be as clear as possible. My father 77 had an iscemic stroke 7 years ago leaving him immobile in a wheelchair with 2 carers twice a day for personal care. Initially after the stroke my dad (we were very close) was there. He might not be able to walk or talk but the humour and glint and determination were all there. Fast forward to yesterday. I visited him and he did not know who the hell I was. He even asked mum who's that. My mother isn't bothered that this has happened. I feel its the sign of the dementia decline. He obsessed, he is very demanding. If he doesn't get his own way he screams help help. He does not trust me or his wife. He is sleeping more. His behavior has driven the rest of the family away. I am an only child and visit to support mum. I'd be grateful for your thoughts or similar experience. Very isolating currently. Thanks for reading.