Bed wetting/pull up leaking at night

SteptoeSister

Oct 13, 2021
Hi I am new to this forum.

I have been caring for dad with dementia for 10 years and now also mum who is virtually immobile. My latest problem is that dad has recently become urinary incontinent. He is under the GP and on waiting list for Bowel & Bladder clinic.

During the day it is mostly manageable, I can change them and he doesn't take them off but at night I am not there and even when his pull up stays on all night the bed is wet. I've already cut down on liquids after tea-time. He refuses to try a wee before bed and seems to go more by night than by day. I've tried putting pants over the top to secure the pull up in place but they get removed.

Is it unreasonable to expect a Tena Maxi pull-up to last all night?
Has anyone found a successful alternative to these?
What success have people had with pyjama incontinence shorts and are they easily removed by the wearer?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Jaded'n'faded

Jan 23, 2019
High Peak
I can't help with this but many members here have experienced the problem. I'm sure someone will be along shortly to offer suggestions.

:)

lollyc

Sep 9, 2020
I've had some success with ID MAXI slips for Mum. I think slips are more absorbent than pull-ups. You could try an adult sleepsuit (does up at the back) if you find that you dad is fiddling with the pants. Are you using a Kylie pad (or similar) on the bed?

Bettysue

Mar 21, 2020
My partner has pull ups at night but is still wet in the morning. I use Kylie pads in the bed so that there is not a complete bed change every day. I don’t know what the answer is …would welcome suggestions too.

Kay111

Sep 19, 2019