How do I deal with.....

Thethirdmrsc

Apr 4, 2018
This seems to be the most common question asked on this forum. How do I deal with the...the pacing, the aggression, the questions, the face hitting, the paranoia.... add your own. I am not a trained anything, and yet I am now a chemist, psychologist, nurse, carer, cleaner and prisoner all in the blink of an eye, and I am not registered. How do I deal with it all? I have no idea, and the books Etc do not always deal with the bad stuff. I take heart from this forum, where I have learnt many things, and tonight’s lesson is to deflect and lie.

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Reading your post @Thethirdmrsc makes me wonder how carers have fallen into this trap . No one would allow us to take on this level of responsibility for a stranger, never mind expect it from us , and yet we are allowed to muddle through, learning as we go and so often suffering quite severe mental and physical health issues as a result.

It`s only now when I am relieved of my caring responsibilities, can I appreciate the enormity of what is expected of us.

karaokePete

Jul 23, 2017
N Ireland
I remember a morning from a couple of years ago when I was leaving my wife into her Day Centre and I had a brief chat with a lady who was dropping off her husband. The lady remarked that she had never planned to become a 24/7 nurse when she retired.

Shortly after that morning I saw the lady and her husband for the last time and have often wondered if she just quit her unwanted 24/7 'job'. I have never made enquiries, just in case I see my own possible future in whatever transpired. Whenever it gets rough I just recall the day when the manager of the Day Centre said "It's tough Pete", and carry on as best I can.

As I say to others "My wife is the one with dementia, but we both suffer with it".

Thethirdmrsc

Apr 4, 2018