Care Home

Pippa J

Apr 16, 2017
I’m new to this but am hoping someone can help me with my decision. My husband has dementia and is currently in a care home. He’s been there for three and a half weeks respite because I reached a point where I needed some rest.
I have been looking after him for five years and he is now completely dependent upon me for all his needs. He is a lovely man and I miss him so much but don’t know whether I can cope with having him back home. He seems very happy in the care home and they all love him.
It is such a terrible dilemma and I just don’t know what to do for the best. All my family and friends are urging me to leave him there, including his carer who helps me for 12 hours each week, but feel so guilty just thinking about it.
We have been married for over fifty years and I miss him dreadfully. It seems I can’t live with him and I can’t live without him
Please can anyone who’s been through this share their thoughts with me on this matter?

Female1952

Apr 6, 2021
Hi PippaJ

You say you feel "so guilty". I've been meaning to write about this for some time. Consider this: people say "I feel guilty" or "I am guilty". The meanings are different.
No one on this forum ever writes "I am guilty" - because they ARE NOT GUILTY. They write "I feel guilty" because that is how they FEEL.
it's two different things. Feeling guilty is very painful but it's "only" a feeling. He's well cared for and you can spend quality time together - at least when we've all had our vaccinations. It's very hard for you but I hope you'll soon have time and the opportunity to see family and friends and find other happiness in life.

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello @Pippa J

If your husband is happy where he is and you are happy with the care home, I would go for permanent residential care.