Bizarre behaviour

sandlesf

Jan 15, 2021
Hello everyone . I'm new to all of this and am finding it difficult to explain to people outside of my family how my husband is behaving.
Now it seems that he is getting UTIs more often. Latest one being diagnosed today after an extremely stressful and upsetting night and
morning. Last night he was begging me to kill him and this morning he wanted to commit suicide. I am very lucky that his Doctor is really supportive and quickly diagnosed another infection. How do I deal with his more and more bizarre behaviour ?

MartinWL

Jun 12, 2020
London
Welcome to DT. You will be able to raise specific behaviour problems here and it it pretty much certain that others will share their experiences. Unfortunately you won't be recommended any cured but there are lots of coping strategies out there. You are going to need a lot of patience, I fear.

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
How do I deal with his more and more bizarre behaviour ?

Welcome to Dementia Talking Point @sandlesf

I wouldn`t worry about trying to explain your husband`s behaviour to people outside the family. They are unlikely to understand how it is to live with someone with dementia, badly affected by UTIs.

The frequency of UTI`s is worrying. I have read on the forum of people being prescribed low dose antibiotics to be taken regularly. It might be worth asking your GP if this might help your husband.

This link might help.

lollyc

Sep 9, 2020