UTI or Major Decline??

maz11

Jul 28, 2020
I have been lingering here for a few months now after my Mum being diagnosed with Mixed Dementia (Vascular/Alzeimers) in July 20 aged 62.

Although Mum had complained of leg stiffness over the past 6 months, her mobility was generally ok until Friday night where she got stuck on the toilet for over 3.5 hrs. It took alot of persuasion for her to allow us to help her up, prior to this we was fully able to manage her own personal care.

We finally got her back to bed and since then she has more or less been completely immobile and incontinent.

We had the doctor up yesterday who said there was protein in her urine so was starting her on a course of anti biotics but unfortunately she started being sick and having diarhea so we are waiting for another doctor this morning.

Can such a sudden change be anything to do with the Dementia or is it more likely to be a UTI and reversible with the correct medication?

We have went from needing no help to 24 hr care but have no care package due to a delay with covid :(

CardiffGirlInEssex

Oct 6, 2018
It could be caused by the UTI, even in someone without dementia that can cause a terrifyingly swift loss of mobility and continence. It has happened to both my parents, though it was my mum (PWD) who made the better recovery mobility wise...eventually.

Palerider

Aug 9, 2015
North West
I have been lingering here for a few months now after my Mum being diagnosed with Mixed Dementia (Vascular/Alzeimers) in July 20 aged 62.

Although Mum had complained of leg stiffness over the past 6 months, her mobility was generally ok until Friday night where she got stuck on the toilet for over 3.5 hrs. It took alot of persuasion for her to allow us to help her up, prior to this we was fully able to manage her own personal care.

We finally got her back to bed and since then she has more or less been completely immobile and incontinent.