Need help I’m new to all this

Leopard

Jul 20, 2020
My mum has just gone into a nursing home, her memory is bad but short term at the moment, I need guidance on how to cope with her when I visit.
She also has really bad anxiety.
Every visit is the same she consistently asks to go home to her own house then I explain she needs to get better ( lung cancer, Copd, lots more too )
She then starts swearing and shouting that get her out of there she hates it there so please take her home and don’t leave her there.
Then in the next breath she’s fine then 2 minutes later we are back to square one.
I cry continually and have cried that much today my eyes are sore and blurred,
My mum hasn’t been diagnosed with dementia but myself and staff think she has some degree.
I know there isn’t a magic wand but hopefully I will get some suggestions
Thanks for reading

Cat27

Feb 27, 2015
Merseyside
Welcome to DTP @Leopard
Have you asked the staff how she is when you’re not there?
Please keep posting as you’ll get lots of support here.

Leopard

Jul 20, 2020
I have asked them and she shouts my name out throughout the day, but she did that at home as well.
As soon as carers or nurses go to her she calms down for awhile, they say she seems to peak with anxiety then comes down and does that all day and night.
When she is fine and dandy I start to wonder if this is right for her then she goes off on one and I’m so confused and upset,

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
You said that your mum had only just moved in there @Leopard , so she is probably still in the early stages of settling in - it can take a good couple of months for someone to settle.