Constant Crying

Ferrit44

Apr 1, 2020
Liverpool
Hello,
My wife cries all the time and will not be consoled, could someone please tell me if this is a state that would continue or abate at some point,
It’s tearing me apart to watch her and not to be able to help, we’ve had no proper sleep for three days,
I don’t know what else to say.

Vic10

Feb 18, 2017
Sorry, I have no experience of this so can’t offer help other than to suggest you contact her GP.
Thinking of you and hoping your situation improves

Louise7

Volunteer Host
Mar 25, 2016
Has the constant crying only started recently? It sounds like your wife is very anxious, which can be common in those with dementia, but I'm wondering if it's connected to the coronavirus situation - has she been seeing things on the TV that are making her anxious? She may also be picking up on your mood, as I know that if I'm stressed or anxious about something my Mum really picks up on it. If the crying is something that has only happened recently, rather than your wife being like this for a while, it may be worth changing what you watch on TV to see if that helps. It's really difficult for everyone at the moment but maybe avoiding too many news programmes/newspapers and trying to remain cheerful might make a difference to your wife's mood. Changes to usual routines can also cause anxiety. As per the advice above though, if this has been going on for a while contact the GP as there may by be some medication that can be given to help. Keep posting as there is lots of support here from forum members.

LynneMcV

Volunteer Moderator
May 9, 2012
south-east London
Seeing my husband start to regularly cry was one of the most distressing things about this disease for me, because above all else I wanted him to feel loved and secure.