Some tips I've learned in the last 4 years - that aren't' in the info pdfs.

rmabo

May 19, 2019
Hi, my mother is FTD/nfPPA for the last 4 years, official diagnostic as 'Alzheimers' came in 2018.

I'm the only son and the only person she has in the world. I'm not a doctor and i had to learn how to care for her (she stayed with me for a year before being moved to a facility). This are things I've learned they don't tell you bout in the books. I made a lot of mistakes, but I also did a lot of things right. I hope you benefit from it. I'm posting here just 'to give back' to the community which has helped me so much over the last 4 years.

I tend to speak honestly and the below might be a bit 'brutal' but i prefer that approach to doublespeak and patronizing. Oh and the below are OPINIONS , not necessary facts. Your mileage can and will vary.

a) the whole 'I'd rather be dead' thing is nonsense

...at least in the early stages. My mother was a nurse, and ironically spent most of her career caring for people with alzheimer's. "I'd rather be dead" is something i heard from her a lot, and when i went through her house I found a 'suicide' kit she had hidden and mercifully forgotten or decided to not use. Based on its content she wouldn't have missed.

Here's why it's nonsense: sure its been up and down and recently more down than up. But me and her were estranged almost until her disease hit. She got her son back. I designed her first year with us as 'bucket list' challenge and took her to really nice holidays. At the time she could still enjoy it. I think we did more in a year together than we did in our lifetimes.