Mums obsession things we request her to

Wooden top

Nov 22, 2019
Hi,
I’m new to posting on here and not quite sure what I’m doing!!!! I have been caring for my 92year old mum in our home for 7 years, she was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s in 2011
This last year has been hard as mums dementia has progressed to having very limited mobility, and very little interaction . What I am finding really distressing is her obsession with her glasses (specs) for the last 3 months every waking moment is taken up with cleaning them,putting them on,stating everything is “blurry”and removing them to start the process again!.I feel I’ve tried everything.From getting her eyes tested, new glasses, removing them from sight, etc. etc. She gets so distressed crying she can’t see. She can read things we have requested her to.Sorry this is a lengthy post but I am becoming desperate . Has anyone experienced similar and more so does anyone have any suggestions?????
Thank you

nae sporran

Oct 29, 2014
Bristol
Welcome to the forum @Wooden top. That's so hard and stressful for you and your mum. My partner has vascular dementia and after a bit of worry her daughter and I finally realised it was the inability to process what she is seeing that causes her reading problems and failure to see off pavements. She, thankfully, accepted that and we just work round when she is out and about. Sorry, that's not much of a solution, but you will find support and more constructive advice on here from others with more experience.

Wooden top

Nov 22, 2019