Respite Care - understading funding by LA

BSH

Nov 12, 2019
Hello,

This is my first time posting, a long time reader.

My mum has mixed Alzheimer's / Dementia and was cared for by my dad at home with the assistance of carers coming 4 x a day. My dad is very ill in hospital and mum has gone into respite care for the first time. She is on her second week of respite.

The LA has asked us to complete a funding form, asking for financial details of their all my parents Allowances, savings and house ownership. They are in receipt of several allowances as although they own their home (bought as right to buy as a council tenant in the 80's for vastly reduced sum) they have no private pensions or other income.

The receive jointly Pension credit with the guarantee element. The receive zero balance care allowance but it has been awarded. Both receive state pension. Mum receives higher rate attendance allowance, dad receives lower rate * attendance allowance. Please could you help with the following as I am lost in this process with the LA.......

• If they receive joint benefits e.g. Pension Credit - what figure do I provide to the LA for my mum?
  • They own the house jointly, what figure (asking for a valuation) do I give the LA for my mum?
  • How do we know how much the care home is costing the LA - what is mum & dads total allowance for a care home per week? Should the LA tell me this?
  • How do I know how much top up they will have to pay? The LA have advised we may have to pay this?
  • I thought there was discretion for families not to pay top up fees for respite care by the LA (read this on the v.com web pages)?
  • Mum is likely to be in longer term care than 6 weeks respite care as my dad is so ill. She may not be able to return home. How does this work with the financial allowance for a care home by the LA - how do we know how much we have to spend to choose a care home? Do we even get a choice?