Appeal best interest meeting

Cumbrian 54

Jun 11, 2019
Hi I am new to this.
My mum has alzheimers and recently placed in a care home by social services
Because she ran out of the matrimonial home on 2 occasions. Mum has been in the home
For 3 months, we had a best interest meeting with social workers and care home manager.
Husband (my dad) who is very selfish, controlling and manipulative.
Social workers want to move her closer to him, his attitude to women and his understanding
Of mums illness is a disgrace, all of this he displayed in front of the social, but they still
Believe it will be in my mums best interest to move closer to the matrimonial home as they say,
The whole attitude of the social workers has been amature one trainee and one who has just
Qualified with a supervisor, bestintrest meeting was all about mums husband and they
Already made their minds up to move mum.
This is so hard to talk about I am 5 hrs away from mum, the care home manager
Is my only sorce of information on how mum's doing on a regular basis,
The social workers have treated her so badly, not keeping her up to speed
On any developments regarding any aspect of mum's case.
I could go on and on about the behaviour of the social workers. Could someone
Please tell me the best way to appeal the decision of the best interest meeting
Thank you.

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Hello @Cumbrian 54 and welcome to Talking Point.

Dealing with Social Services can be a mine field, but at least the SWs realise that your mum needs to be in a care home and are not trying to return her to the family home.

I have a couple of questions for you:

What do you want to happen? Do you want her to stay in the home that she is in now?

Does your mum say that she "wants to go home"? Social Services place a great deal of emphasis on this (unduly in my mind, but that is another matter) so they may think that this is the best compromise.