imaginary people any advice about the best way to manage this?

Lyd

May 27, 2019
hi i am a newbie. i care for my MIL who lives 2 minutes walk away and has alzheimers. she has imaginary people:
1. small children and babies who are lost. these are very distressing for her.
2. people who live in her house these annoy her leaving things on the draining board so she cant use it. making a mess in the kitchen and dont do their share of the cleaning (LOL writing it down they should like my teenagers!)
3. a company who runs her house and come in and out as they want doing stuff (possibly when me and my other half have done things?)
my partner and i disagree how to respond. they dont want to colude i want to get a carer in and say the company sent them (she wont have a carer because she doenst need one!!!).
so any advice on imaginary people are they normal and what to do and any thing i can read.
thanks! Lyd

Guzelle

Aug 27, 2016
Sheffield
My mum used to see imaginary people it’s to go along with it or they get more confused. But you could get a carer and maybe she will think it’s one of the imaginary people. It’s worth a try.

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Hello @Lyd and welcome to Talking Point

My mum was another one who while she lived in her own home was conviced thatthere was aonother woman who lived there and made all the mess in her home. She also believed that there was a school upstairs and the children made a terrible racket going up and down the stairs and came in and moved everything around. In reality there was only her living in a bungalow.........

Stories like these are known as confabulations and they really and truly believe what they tell you. I once made the mistake of asking mum to show me where this staircase that the children made a racket on actually was. Mum couldnt find it and was so upset - she couldnt understand how someone could have removed it so quickly :confused: :rolleyes: