I want to go away on my own but how?

Littlebear

Jan 6, 2017
Devon
My OH & I have always travelled extensively but the last two trips away have been disastrous & I can't go through that again. In June we've been invited to my closest friend's big anniversary but she lives overseas & I want to go on my own but I'm not sure how & where I can leave my OH.

He has FTD & whilst he can hardly speak he is very aware of his surroundings & what is going on. He is very anxious and will barely let me out of his sight - he follows me everywhere & he frequently gets angry & violent although that has improved a bit since going on anti anxiety medication. I'm worried that if I do leave him he will be much worse & that I'll suffer for it on my return but I do desperately need a break. I have no help with his care. I've been doing this for 5 years now & I know my health is suffering.

Does anyone have any advice or experience that might help me get a break away?

Beate

May 21, 2014
London
The solution is respite in a care home. If he is self-funding you can arrange it yourself, if he isn't you will need a needs and Carers assessment from Adult Social Services first. There will still be a cost but via SS it's only about £130 a week.

Quite frankly, if you have no help, you are desperately overdue those assessments anyway. You are entitled to them by law so contact Social Services urgently. The only problem is that you have left it a little late for them to react in time for June, so you will have to stress that this is an emergency and that you are very close to carers breakdown if you don't get some time away fast. If you can't get it sorted out in time, plan a trip to your friend for a little later in the year?

karaokePete

Jul 23, 2017
N Ireland
Hello @Littlebear, I'm concerned by your mention of violence and fear that things will be worse if you take a break.

The experts on the helpline are very good and I wonder if you may benefit from talking to them. Details are as follows