Anti-Psychotic drugs...yes or no?

Suzie G

Jan 26, 2015
I've posted before - hope others might have experience of the following:-
Following a decline in mum since Christmas (previously posted details here) - paranoia, dis-orientation, verbally aggressive to me (primary carer) abusive phone calls & threats etc, mum and I met with the Consultant Psychiatrist last Tuesday. Doctor prescribed RISPERIDONE to 'calm her down'. I have been advised to 'step back' from my carer role as I'm close to burn out. Mum has a SW and Carer visits twice a day. I was relieved initially until I read about Risperidone on line.....now don't know what to do.
I have a meeting tomorrow with SW and team co-ordinator of the Care Agency to increase/re-define mum's needs. Anyone experienced this drug first hand? Should she take it?

Sarasa

Volunteer Host
Apr 13, 2018
Nottinghamshire
I have no direct experience of risperidone, but it was prescribed for my mother by a psychiatrist from the memory clinic. However as she lives on her own with no help coming in, gets in a total muddle with her (non-critical) current medication and has a history of spectacular adverse reactions to drugs neither her GP or I think that it is the way to go at present. I have no aversion to seeing if it would help mum's paranoia, and various people here have positive things to say about it, but until we have mum in an environment where she can be properly monitored I think it's a non-starter. If your mum has regular care visits maybe try it and see. I remember your previous posts, make sure you really do take a step back and let them sort it out.

Suzie G

Jan 26, 2015