Outcome of a seizure

rob Mac t

Mar 18, 2019
my wife, who was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s 7 years ago aged 57 recently had a seizure for the first time. Having never witnessed this before, it was terrifying. After a week in hospital I had been fearing a significant downturn in her illness. Strangely since coming home she is slightly more aware of things and even smiling a little. Has anyone come across this before.

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello @rob Mac t

It is quite late so I doubt you`ll get many replies tonight. I hope you have `watched ` your Thread so you will have no problems finding it. Just click on the Watch Thread at the top of the page.

I have no personal experience but have heard of changes in demeanour following a seizure. Whether the change is temporary or permanent remains to be seen.

I do hope others with personal experiences will respond to you tomorrow.

nae sporran

Oct 29, 2014
Bristol
Hullo and welcome to TP, rob Mac t. I'm sorry your wife has had such a hard time, my partner had a seizure about 5 years and remember how scary it was. She has vascular dementia and it had a negative affect on her, so it's a relief your wife is no worse off for her seizure, and even smiling.

If you feel you need more support though as her illness progresses then https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/find-support-near-you is worth a look. A carers assessment and a care needs assessment from your local social services are worth applying for if you have not done so already. Keep posting and you will find support here.

vmmh

Jun 25, 2018