Incontinence

Reds

Sep 5, 2011
Hertfordshire
Hi all

I have been managing my husband's incontinence for over two years now and am tired of it. I get him to change his incontinence pants regularly but hard waking up to helping him early morning and just before I go to bed.

I am wondering if a catheter would help him and also be easier to manage for me. I have read about them and see one of them can have a valve in the stomach to get rid of the urine.

I would appreciate if anyone can tell me if they have any information or experience of this and if it would be easier. I have to apply a barrier cream to him to stop soreness, sometimes there is leakage and at night have to pad him up well. There is the waste of lots of incontinence pants our bin gets completely full and very heavy.

Regards, Reds

witts1973

Jun 20, 2018
Leamington Spa
Hi all

I have been managing my husband's incontinence for over two years now and am tired of it. I get him to change his incontinence pants regularly but hard waking up to helping him early morning and just before I go to bed.

I am wondering if a catheter would help him and also be easier to manage for me. I have read about them and see one of them can have a valve in the stomach to get rid of the urine.

I would appreciate if anyone can tell me if they have any information or experience of this and if it would be easier. I have to apply a barrier cream to him to stop soreness, sometimes there is leakage and at night have to pad him up well. There is the waste of lots of incontinence pants our bin gets completely full and very heavy.

Regards, Reds
Hi have you spoken to the continence team that supply continence pads etc on prescription they maybe able to help you,you may need to speak to your GP first though,your GP will also prescribe the best creams and wash products on repeat prescription,if you speak to your local council they should provide an additional bin for the pads,I rang them and they sent another bin for our home.