newbie Living with mum with alzheimers

scoobiedoo

Nov 4, 2018
Hampshire
Hi there,
I'm a newbie I joined tp yesterday. I have been living with my mum who has Alzheimer's for the past 7 years I decided to give up my home and move in with her originally to give mum a little helping hand but over the 7 years she has changed so much and I have in affect changed with her everything I do is based around her and how I can make things better for her,I work aswell and have changed jobs so many times for work that suits us both. When I'm at work I have carers in to aid with personal care and companionship but it still doesn't stop me stressing if she's ok and I thought it's about time I reached out to other people in similar situations that we find ourselves in just because we want the best for our loved ones,my life has been on hold for 7 years but I wouldn't change that,I just need a little help and advice to get me through the tough times and hopefully I can help other people too.

nae sporran

Oct 29, 2014
Bristol
Welcome to TP, scoobiedoo. I like you way you describe your life as being on hold for 7 years, but you wouldn't change it. I try to think like that like that, and succeed most days. You will certainly find many people on here with advice and support whenever you need us.

Shedrech

Dec 15, 2012
UK
hello @scoobiedoo
a warm welcome to TP
you've arrived at exactly the right place to find sympathy and support and share your experiences
your mum is a fortunate woman to have you looking after her, and it's good that you do have carers visiting to support you both - is it possible to also consider time at a day care centre for your mum while you work
now you've foind us, keep posting with anything that's on your mind

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello @scoobiedoo . I'm sorry it`s taken you 7 years to find us but hope you will now find it worthwhile.