Welcome to Talking Point - introduce yourself here

Status
Not open for further replies.

karaokePete

Jul 23, 2017
N Ireland
Hello @melkin, welcome to TP. I hope you find this forum a friendly and supportive place.

I hope you don't mind, but I have asked the Mods to move your post to the more specific thread you created so that it can get better attention.

Mandotopia

Aug 29, 2018
North Wales
Hi, I look after my dad who has mixed - vascular and Alzheimer’s - dementia and have done for about 7 years, gradually changing work and personal life to spend more time looking after Dad and meeting his needs and keeping some form of quality of life for him.
I work 4 hours a day Monday to Thursday mornings - but spend the rest of the time with Dad, fitting my long suffering partner in when I can!!
I have many years experience in the care sector and dementia care, and I just wanted to let people know that no matter how experienced you are, how much training you have or what you think you know, when it is a family member who gets that diagnosis and you provide the care/support you begin a whole new learning experience!

Just here to let off steam and support others.
Thanks

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello Mand @Mandotopia I'm glad you've found Talking Point and hope it will be as supportive and helpful to you as I'm sure you have been when caring for others.

We have heard many times how different it is when its your own and its good you recognise this.

Please continue to post now you have introduced yourself. Perhaps you'd like to start your own Thread in the sub forum I care for a person with dementia.

It is here

https://forum.alzheimers.org.uk/forums/i-care-for-a-person-with-dementia.70/

This was all your posts and replies will be in one place and easy for you to find.

clairabelle

Aug 31, 2018
Hello Everyone,