Loving Lucy

WildAtlanticWay

Aug 25, 2017
Lucy is my mum. She’s 85 and we’ve lived together for 11 years. My daughters are both away, one in Toronto and one in Glasgow. My husband is very good with her and she adores him.
I first noticed mummy begin to change and start to ‘disappear’ about 5 years ago. I can see changes every month now. I’ve been teaching English full-time for many years but went part-time this year, just to manage better. I’ve now decided to resign at the end of the academic year and become mummy’s full-time carer.
She is unable to drive, cook, manage or understand time and money, read and she is losing her words. She was an English teacher herself and could recite Shakespeare for an hour! She is confused about underwear, day and night clothes and incontinence pads: I’ve found a few dish clothes in there- and the odd sock!
She is very content, and we laugh everyday. Even though she doesn’t go out - unless we take her, or occasionally, my brother - and she has no visitors.
I’ve only 4 and a half months of teaching left. I’m ready to leave. I’m happy.
But I am so exhausted. Everything drains me. I’m 51 and menopausal, so that helps - not! Mummy doesn’t want outside help but I’ve finally conceded that I need some so I’m about to introduce a carer for one hour a day over lunch time while I’m still in school. My husband was going home to help her with a hot meal, but he could only stay 10 minutes.
I’m tired. I’m really tired.
But, loving Lucy is a privilege. She knows me and she’s happy. I know this will change but I just wanted to put a post in here, just to share Lucy and her story.

scattysue

Aug 20, 2015
Welcome to talking point Wild Atlantic - what a lovely and loving daughter you are - the love you have for your mother shines through your post. I do hope that having the help of the lunchtime carer works to your advantage - you might consider keeping this carer even when you retire to give you a little time off.