The effects of operations on those living with dementia in acute settings

Isabella Grace

Sep 27, 2017
Hello, My name is Isabella and I am a final year student nurse. We have recently begun a module at university which is aimed to help us understand and analyse problems within healthcare based around a specific area within our field of nursing (mine being adult). I have always been very interested in dementia and have had many placements where I have been able to care and look after persons with dementia. I also have a job on a dementia ward outside of university. For this module I have decided to investigate how carrying out operations e.g. hip operations effect a patient with dementia in an acute setting. I have read many articles and have been looking through lots of chat forums to analyse how operations effect those living with dementia e.g. I read that a person with dementia who undergoes a hip operation is twice as likely than a person without dementia to be in hospital far longer and have other health issues arise because of this. I was just wondering if anyone would be able to give me any advice (first hand experiences or professional medical advice) on why this may be the case and/or some of the effects that operations have upon those with dementia.
Kind regards.

nitram

Apr 6, 2011
Bury
There are two distinct problems.
  • The effect of the anaesthetic on the progression of the dementia. This may be short term but can be permanent, Ask an anaesthetist for a opinion.
  • The inability of the person with dementia to understand and carry out any post operative instructions.

marionq

Apr 24, 2013
Scotland
There is also the problem that surgeons don't want to do these operations because the PWD is unable to follow instructions e.g. About doing necessary exercises. They forget they've had the op and try to get out of bed or to walk causing falls.

So people with dementia are often denied or discouraged from getting ops which should help them.

Kevinl