Any help or advice welcome please

Myrildinard

Mar 5, 2017
I am new to being a full time carer ( but not to dementia ) as I have brought my mother home from the care home she was in to take on her full time cares I in her own family home. I could not leave her in the home after caring for my father who had cancer until he died I felt mum deserved the same level of respect and care in her own home. So I gave up my home, job and friends 200 miles away to move into the family home and bring her home. This was something mum wanted very much too.

I am now so afraid I will not cope But I am really struggling with Mums constant toilet accidents, 24/7 hallucinations and sadly as her hypochondria of her younger years is now an obsession with her. She gets so angry and growls at me like a dog because I won't get the doctor out every 2 minutes. She does not seem to forget things as some people with dementia do , also she plays on the dementia label and pretends to be worse at times than she possibly is.
. Since bringing her home I gave only had one night of good sleep ( meaning age only got up x 2 in the night). I try to toilet her before bed but she can't go, then after 1 hour, just dropping off she is wanting the toilet and wets herself on the way. The pads I have been given by the incontinence service do not prevent the soaking of the floor etc)Mums mobility is very poor and and she is registered blind. I understand how frightening this must be for her but am scared as I try not to snap at her .
The only support I have from SS is a small contribution towards one day a week daycare and a couple of weeks respite per year . ( again not the full cost )
Any coping strategies would be welcome please in relation to
The hallucinations
The hypochondria
The incontinence
Thank you so much

marionq

Apr 24, 2013
Scotland