Familial Alzheimers

Vara

Dec 31, 2015
Hello.

Familial Alzheimers - my daughter aged 33 possibly started already but has had blood test and has her father's gene. How to tell my son? Left it late, he is 30 now but I have know about this for 20 years. Does anyone have any advice?

Last edited by a moderator:

Izzy

Volunteer Moderator
Aug 31, 2003
Dundee
Hello Vara and welcome to TP.

I'm so sorry to read about your situation. I have no experience of this myself but I hope some other members who do will post soon.

nitram

Apr 6, 2011
Bury
Personally, but depending on his temperament, I would tell him and encourage him to be tested.
You don't say whether or not he has any children or is in a relationship, this could make it a more difficult decision.

We had a similar problem in that my wife had the gene for dystrophia myotonica which fortunately never developed, we told our 3 children before they were married, they were tested and found to be clear.

Have a read through
https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/site/scripts/documents_info.php?documentID=168 which includes

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    42.1 KB · Views: 729

Vara

Dec 31, 2015
How about contacting Rare Dementia Support who run the fAD support group linked to UCL?

Thank you very much, I didn't know this website existed, I am looking into it.

Last edited by a moderator:

Vara

Dec 31, 2015
Personally, but depending on his temperament, I would tell him and encourage him to be tested.
You don't say whether or not he has any children or is in a relationship, this could make it a more difficult decision.

We had a similar problem in that my wife had the gene for dystrophia myotonica which fortunately never developed, we told our 3 children before they were married, they were tested and found to be clear.