Research on Dementia in hospital

CJ-Research

Dec 1, 2015
Bradford, UK
Hi everyone,

I am a researcher funded by the Alzheimer's society looking at ways to improve the quality and safety of care provided in hospital for people living with dementia. Previous research has shown us that visiting A&E or being admitted to hospital can be a particularly difficult time for people with dementia and the people who support them. Carers have told us in the past that they have felt they were not listened to, despite having valuable information to share with healthcare professionals.

The goal of my project is to design an intervention that can be used in A&E to improve communication between carers, healthcare staff, and patients with dementia to ensure that the right people have the right information to provide the best quality and safest care possible.

The first step in this research is to understand what is currently happening when people with dementia go into A&E or are admitted to hospital. We are gathering data on this through a survey available at https://bradford.onlinesurveys.ac.uk/dementia

We have picked one area in the UK to focus on for this first stage of research, so to participate you must be living in, or accessing care in the Hampshire area. The survey is open to anyone living with dementia in the Hampshire area , or anyone caring for or supporting someone with dementia in the Hampshire, who has been to the hospital in the last 2 years.

The survey has several multiple choice questions, and will likely take around 20 minutes to complete- you have the option of closing the survey and returning to it without losing your responses if you need to take a break.

If you would like more information about this survey, or about this research project more generally please feel free to contact me on C.J.Shaw@bradford.ac.uk

This survey has now been extended to the whole country, you can read about it >>here<<

HarrietD

Staff Member
Staff member
Apr 29, 2014
London