Tough day

CJinUSA

Jan 20, 2014
eastern USA
Took mum to see the consultant. Mum denied having a problem and then wouldn't speak to the consultant. Aricept prescribed for mum. Glass of red wine self prescribed for me!!! I do realise my worries are nothing compared to many of you guys but I am so glad to have somewhere to offload to lovely people who understand and don't judge x

Hello. You were worried about going, and now we understand better why this was worrisome. I imagine the consultants are used to good shows from people with dementia, so I am glad that Aricept was prescribed. For some patients - as I understand it (I am not a medical doctor) - Namenda works well with Aricept to reduce some of the symptoms.

I find that a glass of wine can calm me after a hard day, as today. I hope you are resting by now.

jknight

Oct 23, 2015
Hampshire
Oh that was sooooooooooooooooooooooooo my mum, deny it then blame the messenger!!! I learned quickly to agree with her. So pleased she has Aricept lots of people say it makes a big difference in slowing progression. A good day's work for you xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Have another glass of wine xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Thanks Fizzie! xxxxxxx

fizzie

Jul 20, 2011
None of it is easy for anyone but I do also wish that they wouldn't tell older people they have dementia (what a horrible word) without at least checking with a relative if they are around. The only way around it is to write a note before you go in telling them it upsets her and you don't want her to be distressed so please do not mention dementia. Pass it to the consultant or ask the receptionist to give it to the consult first. They can easily talk about drugs etc.

jknight

Oct 23, 2015
Hampshire