12 week rule, top ups and capacity

ValeriaWatt

Sep 29, 2015
Hello everyone. Newbie here.

We thought we had financing mum's care home sorted out but a recent conversation with a social worker has me a little confused.

My 85 year old mum went into a care home a couple of weeks ago on a trial basis. She owns her own home (apart from a small proportion my brother owns via a deed of trust) and has approximately £8,000 in savings.

We realise she will be self funding but thought we could at least take advantage of the 12 week disregard. The social worker who carried out mum's needs assessment however says that mum does not have capacity to agree to the top up fee for the 12 weeks and therefore the options we have are:

1. The 12 week disregard applies with a third party top up. After this a deferred payment agreement is entered into, again with a third party top up.

2. We fund everything ourselves.

Does anyone have any idea about capacity and the 12 week disregard? The SW made it sound as though it was an automatic progression from the 12 week period into the DPA. I am pondering how, if mum is unable to agree to what is actually a pretty small top up, she will then be able to consent to a charge being placed on her property. We are currently awaiting registration of PoAs if that makes a difference.

Thank you for reading this.

Valeria12

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
Your social worker is, umm misinformed.