Just needed to talk to someone

Annie27300

Nov 12, 2015
Hello everyone
I'm new to talking point, a bit of information
My dad is 72 and has vascular dementia, he still lives at home with my mum and brother.

I went to visit him today and I got so upset and started crying, I was trying not too because I didn't want to upset my mum as I think she is the one live who has with it and deal with it.

I just feel like has given up and finding it difficult to see my dad the way he is now. He is very depressed (we have tried different medication and it didn't seem to work)
On most days he doesn't want to get out of bed, mum is finding it hard to get him up, sometimes he doesn't want to eat. I got a bit frustrated with him tonight ( I know you shouldn't but sometimes it hard) I was trying to get him to eat, he wouldn't get out of bed, so try and get him to sit up in bed but refused I said he needs to so he does choke and he said he couldn't be bothered to eat.

He seems like he has lost interest in everything, like food, used to listen to music. Now he just lies in bed and doesn't do anything, I know it's not healthy him being like that all day, but what can you do? Try and persuade him to get out and do things but he shouts and can get aggressive with you. It like his bed is his safe haven.

I know my mum is finding it differcult he needs a lot of help with personal care, he get up in the middle of the night and has already wet himself, this happens most nights so my mum is very tired, but trying to get him to go before he goes to sleep he refuses point blank.

He is going to a day centre next week so hope this helps, if we can get him there, as you can guess he hasn't been out the house for a while.

Dementia is so cruel to watch, I know everyone who has to support someone with this disease is going through differcult time but just needed to vent it out.

Thank you

1mindy

Jul 21, 2015
Shropshire