Husband recently diagnosed with dementia

jannie19

Aug 4, 2015
trying to be patient

I feel for you as my husband was diagnosed a year ago with dementia. Like you I am new to all of this and have recently "buried my head in the sand" Yes doctors seem to just shove it off. The comment I got from my gp "you have an interesting time ahead of you"
Gee thanks!

What I would like advice on is how to stay patient and not lose your temper, because frankly, I do and then feel terribly guilty afterwards.

I also feel very guilty when I lose my temper, it's trying to remember that he isn't doing it on purpose. I get very upset as he seems to be quite selfish and doesn't seem to care about my feelings any more, but then I suppose this is all part of the disease. He does make up for it on his good days!

tigerqueen

Mar 11, 2014
Essex
If we never got impatient or lost our temper when presented with all these challenges, I'm sure we would have been made Saints by now. I know I'm not one.....

Casbow

Sep 3, 2013
Colchester
tigerqueen

If we never got impatient or lost our temper when presented with all these challenges, I'm sure we would have been made Saints by now. I know I'm not one.....

Well I know I,m not a saint but I do try very hard. Most of the time I stay calm and pleasant. But then it all goes wrong and I hear myself saying all the wrong things. He can then get angry and I know I have to back off or he will be angry and in a state for ages.To make it harder I love him and feel so sad that it has come to this after 50 years of marriage. I watch him continually trying to escape out of the side gate that
is padlocked to keep him safe in the garden and feel so bad about having to keep it locked.x

sueh55

Sep 25, 2015
chelmsley wood
husband recently been diagnosed with alzheimers