Mother in denial and suddenly become aggressive - now refusing all help

Misstep

Oct 7, 2015
South Wales
Mum was diagnosed with mixed dementia three years ago. I made the decision not to tell her specifically at the time, just said she'd got a few memory problems due to a little stroke she seemed to have had. Her husband had just died and she was deeply distressed by any contact with the memory team. I've gone on supporting her in her own home since, and had intended to split her house and move in to half of it with my husband, but everything has suddenly changed. She started crying all the time & was clearly very lonely. I've just started back at Uni, where I'm a mature student (finally doing a degree that my mother wouldn't let me do when I was young) and therefore am around a bit less - still every day, but not the 2-3 hours I've been spending with her. I called the district nurse in, who recommended slipping in a bit of extra care. She's been having a "cleaner" two hours one day a week, and I got her to agree for the time to be spread over the 4 days I'm at college. As soon as that started, she started questioning why they were there. She got worse and worse, until I got so concerned I reverted to one day a week. She's now accusing me of plotting with my father (who she was divorced from 40 years ago) to get rid of her, is accusing me of stealing from her, is accusing the remaining carer of plotting with me and of stealing. She will now not let me help her with anything and wants her remaining carer out of there. She can't really cook for herself, the fridge is already stinking and she can't manage her medication, but is now saying she's going to sell her house and buy a flat in town. I don't think she can live on her own and I think it'll break down within weeks, meaning all the expenses of selling & buying will be lost. She's convinced there's absolutely nothing wrong with her. I tried to speak to my step-brother, who is a joint power of attorney for finance