Should I put mum on a home right now??

anita1780

Sep 13, 2015
Hi everyone I'm new to this, my mum was diagnosed with vascular dementia about 2 years ago, she is 74, she was doing ok living with my uncle, I live in the UK but I'm originally from Peru, I go back at least twice a year.
Last time I was here in January and my mum although confused was doing well, however now I'm back visiting her in Peru and she has deteriorated a lot, sometimes she confuses me, I go out for a walk with her and she tells me after a while she went out for a walk with some girl, she is having hallucinations and believes someone wants to take the house from her and once even took the dining room chairs out of the house and call the police because she thought she had intruders in the home, I'm an only child and my mum is a single mother so I don't have anyone to ask for help or advice really.
I have my partner and life in the UK and I didn't have the best of relationships with her but she was a caring mother, I could go back to Peru for good and become her carer but I feel I would be sacrificing my life, I will go back to Peru in January, I'm still in Peru at the moment and I have my plane ticket to return to the UK in a week and bit and I was thinking to put her on a home in January, however I feel sometimes its not safe to leave her for a few months in the house because my uncle is out a lot , she has a maid part time, but I feel she needs more than that, should I put her on a home right now?, it makes me so sad the thought of her leaving her house and so many memories and I don't think she really wants to go, I will pay for her care in Peru there is no help at all from the government to care for the elderly

Last edited:

tryingmybest

May 22, 2015
I am so sorry to read of your sad situation. It must be extremely difficult being so far away and your Mum being in a country where there is not the sane type of help and care available.