newbie here and would be very grateful for advice!!

Tea drinker

Oct 27, 2012
Afternoon and thank you for reading......

My Mum was being tested for dementia about three years ago and while she was in the 'system', she had a stroke and was in hospital for about a month. She recovered from the stroke but she no longer speaks and has post stroke dementia. My Dad is her full time carer but is beginning to struggle big style........

I see them every week but am finding how he is incredibly frustrating as he could do so many things to make life easier but he's in such a rage at the moment, I daren't suggest anything. He had a look at a respite home last week, was all full of how amazing it was and then today, he has started saying that if my Mum went in there, she would very quickly become institutionalised. He is back down the path of saying he would rather be dead than have the life he does have.

He puts pressure on himself on a daily basis to cook every single meal from scratch (even to the point of baking home made bread), does all the ironing the second the clothes are dry and there are absolutely no corners that he will cut. Money is no object so he could easily have a cleaner, someone to sit with my Mum, he could buy the better quality ready made food and give himself a break. It feels like he is being some type of martyr and then I am left feeling really guilty but I work full time, have two children and a husband and I can only be spread so thin!

Would really appreciate any ideas about how to tackle him.

Thanks in advance x

Cat27

Feb 27, 2015
Merseyside
Hi tea drinker & welcome to TP.

Your Dad may be trying keep control over an uncontrollable illness.

Long-Suffering

Jul 6, 2015
Afternoon and thank you for reading......