Electronic Tagging

Diane Aronwich

Dec 27, 2007
Manchester
This is my first attempt at posting a message on this board. My mum had Alzheimer's and she died two years ago. I remember how quickly she could disappear and there were a couple of very worrying times when she went out of the front door and was nowhere in sight. I think some form of electronic tagging would be very useful to give the carer peace of mind, I'm sure there is the technology for the tag to simply signal the carer when the person is moving away from them and this would be a great aid when shopping or when the person is likely to open the front door.

Skye

Aug 29, 2006
SW Scotland
Hi Diane, welcome to TP.

I'm sure you're right. We've discussed ET on the site before. The only problem seems to be the infringement of civil liberties. It's OK if the person agrees to wear one, but many are beyond the stage where thay would understand the need, so would the consent be valid?

I know when John was at home and walking freely, I would have been glad of such a device, I could never relax when he was out of the house.

rmcshane

Dec 27, 2007
Oxford
[Moderator note:

I have deleted references to a commercial web site as this contravenes Talking Point guidelines http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/talkin...ocuments_info.php?categoryID=2&documentID=66]

We've tried using tracking devices and find that patients can be completely aware of the issues and still judge that they would rather be tracked. In our experience, they are used to enhance rather than restrict freedom.
Rupert

Last edited by a moderator:

susiewoo

Oct 28, 2006
Bromley Kent
My Mum does not require tagging as she is in a secure home but if anything is attached to her...watches,rings etc she always manages to remove them and we never see them again. A wrist tagging system would have to be very secure to resist her tampering.
What about an electronic chip like we can have put in our dogs?