So upset partner been in hosp 5 weeks

Jeb69

Mar 13, 2015
I am new to this so please forgive me if I get it wrong. I Am so upset my partner spent 5 weeks in hosp after cardiac arrest, he's now been sent to another hosp for rehab which is much further away from home. Does anyone know whether I can claim anything towards travel expenses as its either 3 busses taking about 1 hour or taxi fare which is £14 each way. I visit every day as wouldn't leave him on his own in strange place. I am so upset keep crying.

chick1962

Apr 3, 2014
near Folkestone
Good morning, so sorry about your husband. Have you tried carers support as they help out on things like that. Don't know which area you are but also give admiral nurse a ring . Hope husband will recover quickly (( hugs )) to you

Sent from my iPhone using Talking Point

jeany123

Mar 24, 2012
Durham
(You cannot claim help with travel costs, if
you are visiting someone in hospital. However, visitors in receipt of one of the qualifying benefits may be able to receive assistance in the form of a Discretionary Care Grant. Further information about this assistance can be obtained from your local council.)
I found this it is on this page if you scroll down,

http://www.nhs.uk/NHSEngland/Healthcosts/Pages/Travelcosts.aspx

I am sorry to hear about you husband it must be very worrying when my husband had a triple heart bypass and was in hospital 11 weeks I travelled every day 30 miles each way and it cost a fortune, I didn't know about claiming anything,

The last week I was found a flat in the grounds and stayed there I had to pay but it was less than the bus or petrol money for someone to take me would have been, there might be something similar at the hospital that your husband is at,

I hope he recovers and is well soon,

Jeany x

Last edited:

Jeb69

Mar 13, 2015