Hugely swollen legs

mousehold

Mar 25, 2015
Norfolk
This is my first post. I have been caring for mum for about 5 years and she went into a home about 6 months ago. She broke her hip in the home and seemed to really go downhill from thereon. Having arthritic knees doesn't help but now her legs have swollen up to such an extent I am really worried. The worst thing is she will not sit down but endlessly stands up, walks about dragging the leg with the bad knee (not the replaced hip) behind her. She looks in terrible pain and won't rest or stay seated even when I visit which is several times a week. Can the anaesthetic from hip op make her mental condition fall so much? The only thing I could reason out with her was that by standing up she felt more in control. She is constantly crying out for help but not sure what for. Also getting aggressive. I don't know what on earth to do. All her time day and night is spent wandering around like this in pain and exhaustion. A social work team is monitoring her at the moment. I'm beginning to wish she would have a heart attack or something, not a very nice wish for your mother! I am distraught and quite ill myself.

RedLou

Jul 30, 2014
You poor thing. I believe that anaesthetic may indeed lead to a deterioration in dementia - it is a subject often talked about on here, and a search may lead you to other relevant threads. What are the team monitoring her for? It sounds as if she might need meds to relieve her anxiety (pacing) and aggression: has this been mentioned?

Also - my father had swollen legs (water retention) and cellulitis; these were sorted out quite quickly.

Last edited:

sistermillicent

Jan 30, 2009
My mum always used to be worse when she was in pain with a headache or something, perhaps your mum isn't getting the right pain killers, can you check?

Tin

May 18, 2014
UK