ACE 111 Expecting the Worst

zaygezunt

Mar 20, 2015
Lincolnshire
Hi everyone, this is my first post but, having read others, this seems to be a wonderful place to find advice and friendly support.
The other day my mum, who is 82, was given the ACE111 and I was there for support. I made notes of all her answers and then looked up the exam, correct answers and scoring. I calculated that she scored 82. Allowing for the fact I am no professional, this still puts her in the dementia range. At the end of the exam the dr said the next step is a brain scan.
I can't say I am surprised. Not only does she muddle events and conversations but she also repeats herself constantly. I noted that in the exam she couldn't draw the clock face and only remembered the county for the name and address given.
She's a dear soul and I worry how she would take the news. I have been able to be upbeat and strong but also mentioned that if it is dementia we can fight it together.
Two questions -
Does it seem likely to you that I am judging the situation correctly?
If it is what I expect, should I tell her or let the dr do so? I'll be there for her either way. My reasoning tells me that professionals are trained in the best way to approach the subject but would SHE rather hear it from a loving daughter? Can't help worrying that I am actually being a coward.
I don't know the procedure for giving results and diagnosis but I am sure someone here will.
Thanks for an excellent forum, I have a feeling I will find it invaluable as time goes on.

Canadian Joanne

Apr 8, 2005
Toronto, Canada
My opinion is that yoiu should leave it to the professionals. This doesn't mean you can't discuss it with her afterwards,

Not everyone responds well to the news. In fact, we never did tell my mother as she reacted so strongly when we tried. But I know other people who are aware of their illness and they are awesome.

zaygezunt

Mar 20, 2015
Lincolnshire