Tips for coping

Spamar

Oct 5, 2013
Suffolk
Sorry for those of you who think I've got answers, I want answers!

OH, later stages of mixed dementia, still at home, I'm the only carer. Having said that he does go to daycare three days a week.
My health is not as good as it could be which may be a factor here.

It's the constant repetition, it's the I'm divorcing you, it's the unexpected nastiness, it's the I don't live here, it's the urinating everywhere, it's the speed of doing things - a snail would be faster! It's the fact I have to wait around so much, he can't be left. It's the having to adjust everything I do, the meals I eat, where I go, the cafés we go to, the no days out, the no holidays. It's the no speaking to me. It's the no joke stage in both senses.
I've just had enough of all this. I'm fed up, I'm bored, I'm stressed out.
I've read all the books, go to several groups, done the courses. I've been caring for 10 years ( to be fair, not all at this level!)

So why can't I cope anymore? I've had two spells of respite in the last year, one after carer burnout, ( self funding, probably wouldn't have got it from SS ) which I think helped a bit.

Answers please!

Chuggalug

Mar 24, 2014
Norfolk
Sorry for those of you who think I've got answers, I want answers!

OH, later stages of mixed dementia, still at home, I'm the only carer. Having said that he does go to daycare three days a week.
My health is not as good as it could be which may be a factor here.

It's the constant repetition, it's the I'm divorcing you, it's the unexpected nastiness, it's the I don't live here, it's the urinating everywhere, it's the speed of doing things - a snail would be faster! It's the fact I have to wait around so much, he can't be left. It's the having to adjust everything I do, the meals I eat, where I go, the cafés we go to, the no days out, the no holidays. It's the no speaking to me. It's the no joke stage in both senses.