Can lpoa be used for attorney to pay for prepaid funeral?

Wave

Feb 22, 2015
Hi, I'm new to this forum. It's comforting to read the similar issues we are all facing. I wish you all strength and hugs x

My question is that I am an attorney for my grandfather (under both a financial and health lpoa). I'm joint and several with 3 other siblings. My grandfather has severe dementia and I'm not sure how long he has. Can I as an attorney withdraw cash from his account and pay a funeral director now for a prepaid funeral? If so I assume I can do this alone? I.e without the consent of my siblings? ( I will of coursebe discussing arrangements with them) but it seems that if I do not get funds now then I may have to pay personally when he dies and will have to wait until probate before I am reimbursed. I will not qualify for the funeral grant. Thanks in advance if anyone can help?

nitram

Apr 6, 2011
Bury
Yes, you can.
If he is being funded by the LA they may regard this as deprivation of capital, most don't but some do, in the worst case the amount would be added as notional capital to his actual capital.
When you choose the funeral plan make sure that it is from a company that deals with your chosen funeral director, not all directors accept all plans.

Cloverland

Jun 9, 2014
Who was first named on the POA as they are first to have responsibility with banks regarding POA. By this I mean they are able to have full access to bank accounts with a debit card, on line access and a cheque book. The other named attorneys still have authority as you do. But check with individual bank as to how they operate. I was first named attorney and therefore I was given full unlimited access whereas my brother would only receive a cheque book. Usually only one debit card is issued and that to first attorney. This was my experience with high street bank *arclays.