Continuous nursing care

Hi

I need to find a nursing home for my Mum, Has VasDem, stroke and brain hemerage.

I know theres nursing homes which has to be paid for but ive heard of continous care where the state pays for everything.

Anyone come across this or been involved with continous care package for their parents?

Jean X

Hi Jean, you will find this has been written about quite often on here, if you put it in the search, I am sorry i have no experience of this but I am sure someone will be along soon who has ,

Jeany x
    You Never Know How Strong You Are Until Being Strong Is the Only Choice You Have,

Hi Jean,

My husband has continuing healthcare funding. it is funding paid for by the NHS as oppossed to local authority funding.

My husband was put forward for continuing healthcare funding by the assessment centre he was admitted to. They assessed his needs for care and nursing in great depth, scoring his needs from mild to severe. Everything was covered and took some time to evaluate. He was in the assessment unit for 9 weeks so they were fully aware of his needs. Then the results were taken to a panel who make the decission as to whether to award the funding or not. We heard a week later that it had been awarded.
    Most of my husband's results were in the severe column. His needs really are great and he has one to one care within the nursing home so there is always a member of staff with him who has only my husband to care for.

I cannot give any advice on how you apply yourself as we were not aware of continuing healthcare funding until the assessment centre said they were applying for it. I thought we had been asked to attend a meeting to let us know the assessment of his stage of the disease (alzheimers) and possible change of medication. When they mentioned the panel, I asked what that meant and they explained about the funding.

jay