New User
    Blog Entries

Unhappy can my mum be forced into a care home even though I DO NOT WANT THIS

After almost 3 yrs my mum was diagnosed with alzheimer's. Mum's PA gets 17.5 hours per week, through direct payment. I have been asking for more hours for many months now without success. Mum recently had 3 falls in two days so was taken to hospital, she has been in for 1 week, doctors advised that her pottasium was very low and could contribute to her 'dropping like a stone'.

Mum still knows myself and all her family and friends and continuously asks to come home. Social services have been involved from the begining due to her care package.

Social services have now said that mum will go to a 'transitional bed' (to free up hospital bed as they are being fined 100 everyday mum stays). This was supposed to be for a two week period, (to get an adequite care package together) however, now they say under the 'Mental Capacity Act' they can keep her there permenantly.

I know mum needs lots of support, she can no longer feed, bathe, use the toilet without assistance but I want her at home for as long as its possible.

Can I fight their decision? I am looking to take her to her own home so she will not go to a transitional bed, as I am terrified that they will take her away for good.... please help

Hi and welcome to Talking Point

It's really going to come down to safety. You say she can "she can no longer feed, bathe, use the toilet without assistance". Is she living alone? Because if so, I have to believe that she is unsafe if this is the situation. On the other hand if she is living with you it might be possible.
    Jennifer

Volunteer moderator and former long distance carer.

A test of a people is how it behaves toward the old. It is easy to love children. Even tyrants and dictators make a point of being fond of children. But the affection and care for the old, the incurable, the helpless are the true gold mines of a culture.

Abraham J. Heschel

Blog Entries