Pneumonia and Alzheimer's. Recovery???

Hi all I'm new to post here but have read many many stories on this website, in the hope of learning more about this devastating disease.My mam has later stage dementia/alzheimer's
    I'm just wondering if I'm starving my mam to death? She has pneumonia but i can hear a huge improvement in her chest when she coughs its no longer chesty but more dry if anything.Is this normal???/?Shes on morphine and is becoming delirious.DOES Morphine do this ? I believe so.. I'm not sure its doing her any good.Shes off all her normal meds and gets serenace and morphine pump-injected into her abdomen.Doses increase from day to day.Im very very confused ......I can thank the HSE for that!!!.Doctors said it would be best to let her die with dignity and suggested solid food or a drip not to be ad-mined.because she couldn't fight the pneumonia, but I hear a huge change when she coughs.It sounds so much healthier.problem is she doesnt cough that much anymore and im the only one to have noticed this in the last 3 days. Has anyone had the same experince?

Hi,
    I'm sorry I can't help you as I have no experience of this, but just wanted to send my best wishes to you. I can only imagine how concerned you must be right now.
    Thank goodness your mum has you looking after her. Some others on TP will no doubt be able to tell you of their experience with pneumonia.
    Lots of love
    Gill xxx

Thanks Gill.

Important to me.

Going looking for answers, Not easy when you cant find a doctor for love nor money.
    Last edited by fochie; 01-06-2009 at 12:15 PM. Reason: Was in a mood when i wrote it.

Rob - I'm going to ask you a few questions to clarify what's going on with your mother.

They have withdrawn all medication except serenace and morphine. She has been diagnosed with pneumonia, but it sounds to you as if 1) the cough is less frequent and 2) there is less mucus to cough up. Is she receiving any food and/or liquid?